ML photo LD 4.jpg
ML photo LD 4.jpg

Michel legrand

Composer

Born in 1932, into a family with a musical tradition, Michel Legrand entered the Paris Conservatory at the age of ten. There he obtained his prizes for harmony, piano, fugue and counterpoint. Then he began a career as an arranger, accompanist and musical director, among others, for Maurice Chevalier, which allowed him to make his debut in the United States, where his album I Love Paris rose to the top of the charts in 1954.

At the same time, he frequents the world of jazz, collaborating with Dizzy Gillepsie, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans… He also embarks on the composition of songs for the artists he accompanies, La Valse des Lilas constituting his first great success. .

In 1955, he wrote his first film score: Les amants du Tage by Henri Verneuil. He composes for Agnès Varda, Jean-Luc Godard and, above all, Jacques Demy. Together, they invented a new genre of musical film: the Umbrellas of Cherbourg followed Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (1967) and Peau d'âne (1970).

In 1968, Michel Legrand moved to Los Angeles. In 1960, he won the Oscar for best original song for The Windmills of Your Mind for the film The Thomas Crown Affair by Norman Jewison. This was followed by the Oscar for Best Soundtrack for Summer 42 by Robert Mulligan (1971) and that of Best Musical Adaptation for Yentl by Barbra Streisand (1983).

However, Michel Legrand does not abandon his other activities, in particular as a guide, with, among others, Charles Aznavour, Jessy Norman, Claude Nougaro ...

In 1996, Michel Legrand offered his first musical for the stage: Le Passe-Muraille, which in 1997 won the Molière for best musical performance. In 2014, the Opéra de Nice hosted its first opera Dreyfus, in collaboration with Didier Van Cauwelaert for the libretto.

In 2017, the albums “Piano Concerto, Cello Concerto” and Between Yesterday and Tomorrow, an oratorio written by Alan and Marylin Bergman, sung by Natalie Dessay, were released. The world premiere takes place in March 2018 at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées.

In 2018, Michel Legrand's autobiography “I regret to say yes to you” was released by Fayard.

Michel Legrand dies on January 26, 2019 in Paris.

ML photo LD 4.jpg
ML photo LD 4.jpg

Michel Legrand

Compositeur

Né en 1932, dans une famille de tradition musicale, Michel Legrand entre au conservatoire de Paris à l’âge de dix ans. Il y obtient ses prix d’harmonie, piano, fugue et contrepoint. Puis il entame une carrière d’arrangeur, accompagnateur et directeur musical, entre autres, pour Maurice Chevalier, qui lui permet de faire ses débuts aux États-Unis, où son album I Love Paris se hisse en tête des charts en 1954.

Parallèlement, il fréquente l’univers du jazz, collaborant avec Dizzy Gillepsie, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans … Il se lance également dans la composition de chansons pour les artistes qu’il accompagne, La Valse des Lilas constituant son premier grand succès.

En 1955, il écrit sa première musique de film : Les amants du Tage d’Henri Verneuil. Il compose pour Agnès Varda, Jean-Luc Godard et, surtout, Jacques Demy. Ensemble, ils inventent un nouveau genre de film musical : aux Parapluies de Cherbourg succèdent Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (1967) et Peau d’âne (1970).

En 1968, Michel Legrand part s’installer à Los Angeles. En 1960, il obtient l’Oscar de la meilleure chanson originale pour The Windmills of Your Mind pour le film The Thomas Crown Affair de Norman Jewison. Suivront l’Oscar de la meilleure musique de film pour Summer 42 de Robert Mulligan (1971) et celui de la meilleure adaptation musicale pour Yentl de Barbra Streisand (1983).

Michel Legrand ne délaisse pas pour autant ses autres activités, notamment d’accompagnateur, avec, entre autres, Charles Aznavour, Jessy Norman, Claude Nougaro …

En 1996, Michel Legrand propose sa première comédie musicale pour la scène : Le Passe-Muraille, qui obtient, en 1997, le Molière du meilleur spectacle musical. En 2014, l’Opéra de Nice accueille son premier opéra Dreyfus, en collaboration avec Didier Van Cauwelaert pour le livret.

En 2017 paraissent les albums « Concerto pour Piano, Concerto pour Violoncelle » et Between Yesterday and Tomorrow, un oratorio écrit par Alan et Marylin Bergman, chanté par Natalie Dessay. La première mondiale a lieu en mars 2018 au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées.

En 2018, l’autobiographie de Michel Legrand « J’ai le regret de vous dire oui » est sortie chez Fayard.

Michel Legrand décède le 26 Janvier 2019 à Paris.